top of page

Bittersweet September (Part Two)

A few days to a month later, sorry but this time of my life was a blur, my favorite uncle EVER was diagnosed with a terminal form of cancer. I couldn't take much more. Watching all this people I love dying. I did not go to see him as much as I should have. I could not take seeing him like that. He died in February. In 3 months I lost two people I loved dearly. My 25th birthday I had another uncle whom I was close to in the hospital. He had a heart attack and was diagnosed with a form of leukemia shortly after. He passed away a few years ago. The positive side of that birthday....it was the first one I spent with my hubby!! Although I did spend some time crying over the fact that I was turning 25. I know, I know it wasn't that old. But it seemed that my early twentys were gone forever and I mourned that. September 11, 2011............need I say more??? Who can ever forget that day. It changed our world forever. And we will never forget that day or where we were at when we heard the news. Fast forward to today. My cousins little girl was diagnosed with leukemia when she was only 6 months old. And yesterday they were told that they could not do the bone marrow transplant that they had hoped to do. The leukemia was back in full force. I have not had the pleasure of meeting her in person. But my heart breaks for her, my cousin and his wife. I have seen her beautiful pictures and prayed for her. It seemed as if she might win the fight. But it now appears that she will not. So many emotions today. My heart breaks for my cousin and his family. I am so grateful for my boys and their health. I pray for them to remain healthy and happy. And every time September rolls around my heart hurts all over again for the loss of my Grandmother and Uncle. Just like every Christmas morning I think of my Grandmother. What should be a joyous time is also marked by such loss and tragedy. Every September I pray that the month will pass without tragedy. That is my birthday wish.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page